XXXIII Congress 2017

Call for Papers

The XXXIII Congress of the International Scientific and Technical Organisation for Soaring Flight (Organisation Scientific et Technique Internationale du Vol à Voile, OSTIV) will be held at the site of the 34th FAI World Gliding Championships in the Open, 18m and 15m Classes, Benalla, Australia from 8 to 13 January, 2017. The Congress addresses all scientific and technical aspects of soaring flight including motorgliding, hang gliding, paragliding, ultralight sailplanes and aeromodeling.

Deadline for Abstracts and Summaries

The deadline for the Abstracts — max. two A4 pages including figures — is 15 July, 2016. Letters of acceptance will be mailed by 30 July, 2016. Final two-page summaries of your contribution will be included in the conference booklet and are due by 1 November, 2016. Full papers are not required but presenters are encouraged to prepare full papers for submission to Technical Soaring, OSTIV’s refereed international journal.

Please use the form below to send a copy of your Abstract to the OSTIV Secretariat, clearly marked for either the Scientific, Technical, Training and Safety, or Joint session.

Oral presentations at the Congress will be limited to 30 minutes. There is no registration fee for the Congress!
If you would like to attend the Congress, please complete the form

below and send it to the OSTIV Secretariat at


The small town of Benalla in picturesque rural NE Victoria is an ideal destination for international tourists wishing to see the best of Australia without travelling all the way to the outback. The surrounding region is an airsport playground, combining both flat, farming country with the forested hills of the Australian Alps. A day tour of the region will be held for those interested on the Wednesday of the conference week. The conference will be held in the Benalla Performing Arts Centre meeting rooms adjacent to Benalla (WGC17) airfield and there will be the opportunity to see some of the competition finishers. If you are interested in finding out more, follow

Organisation Committee

Rolf Radespiel, Germany
Britta Schlenker, Germany
Stuart Smith, Australia
Murray Stimson, Australia

Go back